My Thoughts after Reading: The Miscalculation of Lightning Girl

The Miscalculations of Lightning GirlThe Miscalculations of Lightning Girl by Stacy McAnulty

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

My Thoughts after Reading

This is a middle grade book about a 12-year-old who became a math genius after she was struck by lightning. She also developed OCD. Her grandmother, who is her carer, had home-schooled her since. But now that she is 12, she has to go to middle school and make friends of her age. Up to this point, her friends were online math geniuses.
The way her mathematical mind works comes across very well in the story. She made a couple of unlikely friends, particularly Levi. He is not mathematical, but he has a gift of empathy. He can tell straightaway how someone is feeling, and captures their expressions in his camera. This obsession is not popular with his peers. My favourite line in the book comes from him. “You’re the first person who has ever felt different. You’re the first freak ever to set foot in East Hamlin Middle School. Congratulations, Lucy Callahan. You’re so special.” Levi is simply spot on in his analyses of people.

This book was recommended to me because of the cool math teacher. I was looking for a STEM mentor in MG books. He wasn’t quite what I was looking for, but I liked him. He is a teacher who has passion for the subject, and attempts to connect the subject to our world at large. Most of all, he spotted the fact that Lightning Girl was not showing her full potential. Teachers like Mr Stoker are a gift to all parents.
The writing is quick paced, rhythmic and page-turning. The characters are compelling. What I love best is our math genius used statistics to help a charity house homeless pets. Cleverly written to incorporate math into fiction.

A really good read.

Blurb

A lightning strike gave her a super power…but even a super genius can’t solve the problem of middle school. This smart and funny novel is perfect for fans of The Fourteenth GoldfishRain Reign, and Counting by Sevens.

Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning. She doesn’t remember it, but it changed her life forever. The zap gave her genius-level math skills, and ever since, Lucy has been homeschooled. Now, at 12 years old, she’s technically ready for college. She just has to pass 1 more test–middle school!

Lucy’s grandma insists: Go to middle school for 1 year. Make 1 friend. Join 1 activity. And read 1 book (that’s not a math textbook!). Lucy’s not sure what a girl who does calculus homework for fun can possibly learn in 7th grade. She has everything she needs at home, where nobody can make fun of her rigid routines or her superpowered brain. The equation of Lucy’s life has already been solved. Unless there’s been a miscalculation?

A celebration of friendship, Stacy McAnulty’s smart and thoughtful middle-grade debut reminds us all to get out of our comfort zones and embrace what makes us different

View all my reviews

5 thoughts on “My Thoughts after Reading: The Miscalculation of Lightning Girl

  1. Pingback: 8 Books for March 8 – Books with Strong Female Leads | Justine Laismith

  2. Pingback: Eight Numeracy-related Books | Justine Laismith

  3. Pingback: 7 Books to Help Settle in the New School Year | Justine Laismith

  4. Pingback: 8 Books to Help Settle in the New School Year | Justine Laismith

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s